[SPOILER ALERT] Fantastic Beasts

So, for those of you who haven’t watched this movie, please proceed at your own risk since I have just finished watching the movie and I feel like writing a post about it. So, here goes.So, I have just finished watching this movie with my sister yesterday, and I just couldn’t help myself, I need to write it down. I admit at first since the trailer was released some time ago, I wasn’t particularly excited about this movie. Yes, this one is still in the magical world created by J.K. Rowling, the same woman behind Harry Potter universe that I so loved since childhood, but there was just something that made me less excited about this one compared to the ‘original’ Harry Potter series.

Anyway, as a self-proclaimed Potterhead, I still need to watch this since this can just be the beginning of everything (Yep, I’m talking about their first ‘world war’ period between Grindelwald and the Magical Community in general). Maybe this could be the prologue kinda thing to Harry Potter series. Like, introducing the Dark Lord before Lord Voldemort and his agenda of promoting ‘the greater good’. So, I watched it and it didn’t disappoint.

Here comes the spoilers. So, I like the relationship Newt has with his creatures. I love how he interacts with them by talking to them, caring for them, even becoming their Mama (in case for the Occamies). I think this is a nice touch to the character who seems so distant towards people but is very close to his ‘friends’ inside his case. From the moment I saw Newt, I got that socially awkward vibe from his character so I think I can understand why he chose the company of his creatures more than the company of other people. He just talks more with the creatures inside his case rather than the people outside it. And he explains himself better too. Or this can all just happens in my imagination, I don’t really know. Anyway, I get that vibe from his character.

As far as the story goes, I expected more magic to be involved and shown, but the magical elements shown in the movie isn’t that lacking either. It still keeps the story afloat and still bring us right back to the magical world. I just want more of them and hopefully the next movies (they said it will be 5 movies, right?) will have more magic, or even a magical duel between Dumbledore and Grindelwald. It will be super epic.

And for Eddie Redmayne portraying Newt Scamander, I can’t really comment about this. I’m sure he’s a brilliant actor and I love his performance in The Danish Girl, but I didn’t like how he portrayed Marius in Les Miserables and I’m not sure whether I like his portrayal of Newt Scamander here or not. Of course since there isn’t any novels for this movie (or is there? I’ve been separated from the Potter universe that I don’t even know what’s going on in that magical world. I think I’ve been Mugglelized or something…) then his portrayal and characterization of Newt Scamander will be a fresh one since the fans cannot compare his interpretation to the one in the book (like what I did with Harry Potter series). Well, some of his acting and expressions just don’t sit well with me, but as I said before, I like the nervous, socially-awkward vibe that he’s been giving to other people. I think that makes him just a tad bit more eccentric, and I like that. It makes the story of him collecting and rescuing creatures make more sense because he’s just that special and unique.

Regarding the other characters, of course, like many others I assume, I love Jacob Kowalski. I think he’s the comic relief assigned for this movie because yes, his character totally brings laughter to the whole cinema watching the movie. And in a way, I can relate to him because he’s a representation of us Muggles (or no-Maj…even though I prefer Muggles) who are sucked into the Magical World by, first, Harry Potter, and then, this movie. I can totally relate with his astonishment and amazement when he’s seeing the Fantastic Beasts inside Newt’s case. I can see myself in his shoes when I first started reading that first Harry Potter book and discovered Magic.

Anyway, the movie was pretty good. I love how it sets the background story of what’s to come between Albus Dumbledore and Grindelwald. I’m totally anticipating the day when the two wizards meet each other. And can I expect more background story as to why Grindelwald started to become the Dark Lord? I hope so. Oh! And of course we need stories about Dumbledore’s sister, right? Or just his family in general. Aberforth maybe…his family and life-story is just too mysterious. I really need to know who is Dumbledore. I think it’ll be interesting to know all these facts about the wizard who knows it all.

But on thing that really shocked me was the fact that they got JOHNNY DEPP to play Grindelwald. I was super shock seeing Captain Jack Sparrow becoming the Dark Lord Grindelwald at the end of the movie. Whenever I imagined Grindelwald, I never pictured Mr. Depp as him. I think partially this is because his portrayal of Jack Sparrow, the odd weird strange crazy pirate lord, has stuck to him. And so every other characters that he played, immediately the one coming to our mind is the image of the Captain. And so, once our mind is ‘conditioned’ to think that way, we’ll associate every thing he does with Jack Sparrow. Thus, when I saw him talking to the President of MACUSA and Newt at the end of the movie, I honestly didn’t see Grindelwald, but instead, I see the more evil version of Jack Sparrow. So yes I was a bit disappointed with the casting for Grindelwald, but I’m also excited to see what Johnny Depp will bring to the movie and to the character, since there isn’t that much information about Grindelwald as well. Hopefully, he can shed off the image of Captain Jack Sparrow and totally becomes Grindelwald for this movie.

Well, after watching the movie, I like several bits of it but still not that excited for a second movie. Maybe I’m one of those people who can’t move on from Harry Potter series, because I would much rather watch Harry, Ron, Hermione, and the rest of the people in HP series grow older than watching a new character in the same concept of Magical World. But of course, we need to see if the next movies will be a good one and will not be a disappointment for all Potterheads. Until the next movie, then. Bye.

8 thoughts on “[SPOILER ALERT] Fantastic Beasts

  1. I’m not a Potterhead, but I do really love the movies. I feel the same when I first heard about Fantastic Beasts coming to cinema. I don’t have the urge to watch, but soon my heart changed when I let myself to “get to know” Eddie Redmayne through his other movies. He is a good actor — I haven’t watched FB, but I’m expecting his role would not disappoint me. Hopefully. Thanks for the spoiler btw. Ha-hah.

    1. If you love his acting then surely you’ll like his portrayal of Newt Scamander as well. Have you watched his movie The Danish Girl? I’m not that fond of his acting but I loveeee him in that movie. Hahah, you’re welcome. Glad that my spoiler helps. ^^

      1. Yep. Watched that movie too, but incomplete I think. And I totally agree with you. I like him in The Danish Girl better than Theory of Everything. I love Benedict Cumberbatch’s portrayal of Hawking more than his. Lol.

      2. Yep. It was quite a long time ago. Around 2008 if I’m not mistaken. The title is Hawking and it was BBC’s. Just a ‘short’-ish movie but it was good. Try watching it. 😬😬

Leave a Reply

